The BAFS Medical Prize

Historically BAFS awarded the David Paul Memorial Prize given to highly performing candidates in the Diploma in Medical Jurisprudence run by the Society of Apothecaries until the examination terminated in 2010.  The last two David Paul Memorial awards were:

2005/6 to Dr Guy Beaumont
2009/10 to Dr Sarah Wilson

In 2018 BAFS decided to reintroduce a Medical Prize.  All doctors and dentists below CCT/CCST completion and medical students from these professions are eligible to enter. Previous winners are exempt from further application for 3 years from the award.

The entrants will prepare a short presentation on a medico-legal or forensic issue that they will have to send as a PowerPoint file to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The best 3 entrants will be shortlisted and invited to present their work in person to be adjudicated by a panel from BAFS Council members.

A prize of £300 is awarded to the winner who will be invited to attend an Academy event to receive their award.  The first prize will be awarded on the 9th of December 2021.

The deadline for applications for the 2021 medical prize is 30th September 2021.

Recipients of previous editions of this prize:

2018/19             Joint:      Abigail Sharp (Royal Hallamshire Hospital) 
                                        Joseph Westaby (St George's Hospital)

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site
EU Cookie Directive plugin by