BAFS People

BAFS Patron


Lord Chancellor, the Lord Mackay of Clashfern.

The Academy is honoured to have as its Patron its Honorary Member and former Lord Chancellor, the Lord Mackay of Clashfern.

Lord Mackay has received a great many honours in recognition of his outstanding achievements. The Queen approved that the Right Honourable the Lord Mackay of Clashfern KT be appointed Lord High Commissioner to the 2005 General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, and he was reappointed by the Queen to the 2006 General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.

BAFS Officers

Tracy Alexander
Prof. Denise Syndercombe Court
Prof. Andrew Forrester
Editor Medicine, Science and the Law
Jill Battley

Past Presidents

  • 1992 His Honour Judge Timothy Lawrence
  • 1991 Dr Patrick J Lincoln
  • 1990 Professor George C Jenkins
  • 1989 G.J. Connor
  • 1988 Dr P. Toseland
  • 1987 Dr David M. Paul
  • 1986 Roger Henderson QC
  • 1985 Margaret Pereira CBE
  • 1984 Dr J.D. Havard
  • 1983 The Right Honourable Lord Justice Waller
  • 1982 Dr Ronald Coleman
  • 1981 Dr W.A.R Thompson
  • 1980 H.D. Walton QPM
  • 1979 Professor Barbara E. Dodd
  • 1978 Professor J. Malcolm Cameron
  • 1977 His Honour Judge Cox
  • 1976 A Fraser McIntosh OBE
  • 1975 Professor A. Keith Mant
  • 1974 Professor Cyril J. Polson
  • 1973 The Honourable Sir Gerald Thesiger
  • 1972 Dr. Walter Somerville
  • 1971 Dr. A John Howard
  • 1970 Sir Roger Ormrod
  • 1969 Dr. I.G.W. Pickering VRD
  • 1968 Professor E.G.C. Clarke
  • 1967 Sir David Napley
  • 1966 Professor T.C.N. Gibbens CBE
  • 1965 Dr. H.J. Walls
  • 1964 The Right Honourable Lord Justice Lawton
  • 1963 Professor Francis E. Camps
  • 1962 Dr. L. Harrison Mathews FRS
  • 1961 Sir Thomas George Lund
  • 1960 Professor Sir Leon Radzinowicz

Executive Council


Previous Executive Council Meeting

The Executive Council conducts the business of the Academy.  Membership consists of:

  • Officers: The President (elected for two years), the Secretary General and the Treasurer  (to be re-elected annually)
  • Members of the Academy elected to the Executive Council (to stand for three years)
  • Editor in Chief or representative of the journal, Medicine Science and the Law (to be re-elected every five years)
  • Immediate Past President and President Elect
  • Co-opted (to be re-confirmed annually through the Executive Council)

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site
EU Cookie Directive plugin by