About BAFS


To encourage study, improve practice, disseminate information, and advance knowledge in Forensic Science and Forensic Medicine for public benefit.  To further these objects by

  • Holding educational meetings and seminars, and publishing material that furthers the aims of the Academy. Promoting better cooperation and understanding between lawyers and expert witnesses.
  • Sharing expertise in order to resolve legal conflicts justly and expeditiously.
  • Providing a forum for exchange of information in the field of forensic science.
  • Using the skills and knowledge within the membership to promote the resolution of national and international issues in  Medicine, Science,  and the Law.

The Main Disciplines Covered by BAFS Members

What is Forensic Medicine?

Forensic medicine covers doctors working in areas including: forensic medical practitioners, forensic pathologists, forensic psychiatrist, medical examiners and medico-legal advisers

What is Forensic Psychiatry?

Forensic psychiatry is a medical specialty that provides assistance to the criminal courts when issues arise as to the mental state of defendants, witnesses and complainants.

What is Forensic Science?

Forensic science is the application of science to the law, both civil and criminal, although it is mainly employed in criminal law and will often also appear in court as expert witnesses.

BAFS People

BAFS Patron


The Academy is honoured to have as its Patron its Honorary Member and former Lord Chancellor, the Lord Mackay of Clashfern.

Lord Mackay has received a great many honours in recognition of his outstanding achievements. The Queen approved that the Right Honourable the Lord Mackay of Clashfern KT be appointed Lord High Commissioner to the 2005 General Assembly of the Church of Scotland, and he was reappointed by the Queen to the 2006 General Assembly of the Church of Scotland.

BAFS Officers

Tracy Alexander
Prof. Denise Syndercombe Court
Prof. Andrew Forrester
Editor Medicine, Science and the Law
Jill Battley

Past Presidents

  • 1992 His Honour Judge Timothy Lawrence
  • 1991 Dr Patrick J Lincoln
  • 1990 Professor George C Jenkins
  • 1989 G.J. Connor
  • 1988 Dr P. Toseland
  • 1987 Dr David M. Paul
  • 1986 Roger Henderson QC
  • 1985 Margaret Pereira CBE
  • 1984 Dr J.D. Havard
  • 1983 The Right Honourable Lord Justice Waller
  • 1982 Dr Ronald Coleman
  • 1981 Dr W.A.R Thompson
  • 1980 H.D. Walton QPM
  • 1979 Professor Barbara E. Dodd
  • 1978 Professor J. Malcolm Cameron
  • 1977 His Honour Judge Cox
  • 1976 A Fraser McIntosh OBE
  • 1975 Professor A. Keith Mant
  • 1974 Professor Cyril J. Polson
  • 1973 The Honourable Sir Gerald Thesiger
  • 1972 Dr. Walter Somerville
  • 1971 Dr. A John Howard
  • 1970 Sir Roger Ormrod
  • 1969 Dr. I.G.W. Pickering VRD
  • 1968 Professor E.G.C. Clarke
  • 1967 Sir David Napley
  • 1966 Professor T.C.N. Gibbens CBE
  • 1965 Dr. H.J. Walls
  • 1964 The Right Honourable Lord Justice Lawton
  • 1963 Professor Francis E. Camps
  • 1962 Dr. L. Harrison Mathews FRS
  • 1961 Sir Thomas George Lund
  • 1960 Professor Sir Leon Radzinowicz

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site
EU Cookie Directive plugin by www.channeldigital.co.uk